Chocolate and Fig Brownie Muffins

I don’t know about you, but I love figs! They look so weird but they taste incredible. And I think a fig and chocolate combination is perfect, so when you add that to brownies, then it might as well just be heaven.

I’ve recently been experimenting with baking and using alternative ingredients. I was in Holland and Barrett and I found Buckwheat Flour, it was surprisingly cheap so I thought I would give it a go! I made up this recipe because I needed an excuse to use the buckwheat flour for the first time, as well as using my figs before they ran out of date.

I don’t eat an all vegan diet and I don’t have a gluten intolerance,  but these brownies kind of just happen to be gluten free and “almost” vegan. I say almost because I used Bourneville and 85% Dark Chocolate from Tesco that says MAY CONTAIN: MILK. I assume they use the vague term “MAY CONTAIN” due to the likelihood of cross-contamination with other products, so obviously if you are vegan, 100% swap these ingredients out if you’re not comfortable with using them.

Ingredients:

  • Bourneville Cocoa Powder
  • Buckwheat Flour
  • Baking Powder
  • Coconut Oil
  • Coconut Milk
  • Mashed Banana
  • Sweet Freedom/Maple Syrup
  • Dark Chocolate
  • Figs
  • Sea Salt

chopped-banana

Method: 

  1. Preheat the oven to 180ºC/350ºF/gas 4.
  2. Sieve the flour and cocoa powder into a large bowl and baking powder and a pinch of salt.
  3. Stir in the oil, coconut milk, Sweet Freedom/Maple Syrup and mashed banana until combined. (I added some desiccated coconut for some extra sweetness.)

coconut

  1. Pour/spoon the mixture into cupcake cases and sprinkle the figs on top.
  2. Place into the hot oven for 20 to 25 minutes, or until cooked on the outside, but still gooey in the middle. 
  3. Leave to cool for around 5 minutes then add some chocolate on top.

finished-brownies

I stupidly forgot to add to figs before I put them in the oven, but they still tasted great. 

Voila! If anyone has any questions or comments then let me know!

Leave a Reply

